New County Council Line Up Announced Today

New County Council Line Up Announced 10 June 2009

‘Derbyshire County Council’s newly elected controlling group have announced their key appointments ahead of the authority’s annual meeting on June 17. Council Leader Andrew Lewer said the move marked a fresh start for the council with new people and new portfolios to reflect their key priorities.

The new Cabinet line–up – to be confirmed at the council’s AGM – has been named as:

Leader and Cabinet Member for Culture – Councillor Andrew Lewer
Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Highways and Transport – Councillor Chris Jackson
Cabinet Member for Adult Care – Councillor Charles Jones
Cabinet Member for Communities – Councillor Carol Hart
Cabinet Member for Education – Councillor Mike Longden
Cabinet Member for Finance and Management – Councillor John Harrison
Cabinet Member for Recycling and Technology – Councillor John Allsop
Cabinet Member for Regeneration – Councillor Simon Spencer
Cabinet Member for Young People – Councillor Tracy Critchlow
Councillor Robin Baldry is set to become Chairman of Derbyshire County Council with Councillor George Wharmby selected as his Vice-Chairman.

“This is an exciting time for us,” said Council Leader Andrew Lewer. We’ve got an excellent team who bring a new perspective to the council and a refreshed and invigorated approach to running it. “We’re keen to get on with the job and deliver on our priorities as soon as possible – now we have the team to do it.”

This entry was posted in Andrew Lewer, County Council. Bookmark the permalink.